Race Against Words

I found this at the very end of my NaNoWriMo piece I wrote back in November. It has nothing to do with anything. I was lacking motivation and this is how I was feeling during the last leg of the race: 50,000 words in 30 days.

Sometimes I feel like I’m a tiny little ant among all of these things that are much larger than me. People who shine as bright as the sun and mountain tops that reach so high up to the sky it seems like they are impossible to conquer. We’re all just little tiny ants trying to climb to the top of a huge mountain, so one day we can hold up something larger than ourselves to the sky and offer it everything we are, everything we have. That moment when we are all able to reach the top is when we all continue to have faith in ourselves.

I’m in a fishbowl and I’m floating into outer space, or maybe it’s underwater. I’m in my nice clothes all dressed up to go somewhere. But when I was on my way to go there I got thrown into this tight space, unwilling to go I kick and thrash and try and fight my way out of it, but it’s far too late. I’m above the world, larger than life itself.

Leave a Reply

